IATF 16949 Quality Management Systems

We provide consulting and implementation guidance for the IATF 16949 Quality Management Systems (QMS) designed for the Automotive Industry.

This International Automotive Task Force (IATF) standard, which is based upon ISO 9001, is the technical specification applicable to the quality system requirements for the design/development/production, installation and servicing of automotive related products. 

  • It is written in the framework of ISO 9001;
  • It applies to sites only where automotive parts are in production;
  • The process approach is reflected with 5 auditable clauses: quality management system, management responsibility, resource management, product realization, measurement analysis and improvement;
  • It covers production of materials, parts for assembly, heat treatment, and painting;
  • There are customer specific requirements that are required by individual manufacturers;
  • Organizations wishing to attain certification must be suppliers to subscribers to the IATF;
  • Any manufacturing tier can qualify;
  • Potential suppliers will need to provide a request for quotation or proof of entry to a bid list;
  • Where a company produces non automotive as well as automotive products, a separate certificate for the non automotive products would be required (probably ISO 9001);
  • QS 9000 expired on 15th. December 2006 and was replaced by ISO/TS 16949:2002;
  • Certificates to ISO/TS 16949:1999 became obsolete on 15th December 2003;
  • Only Certification bodies recognized by IATF can issue certificates;
  • It is expected that 80% of vehicle sales worldwide will be covered by this standard in 2007;
  • Internal auditors will need to demonstrate that they have the education, training and experience needed to conduct the audit. No IATF approval is required.

ABCI consultancy can assist in the preparation of appropriate documentation to provide compliance to the ISO/TS 16949:2002

Global Auto Manufacturers Quality System Requirements

The IATF is an “ad hoc” group of automotive manufacturers and their respective trade associations, formed to provide improved quality products to automotive customers worldwide. Specifically, the purposes for which the IATF was established are:

  1. To develop a consensus regarding international fundamental quality system requirements, primarily for the participating companies’ direct suppliers of production materials, product or service parts or finishing services (e.g. heat treating, painting and plating). These requirements will also be available for other interested parties in the automotive industry.
  2. To develop policies and procedures for the common IATF third party registration scheme to ensure consistency worldwide.
  3. To provide appropriate training to support IATF 16949 requirements and the IATF registration scheme.
  4. To establish formal liaisons with appropriate bodies to support IATF objectives.

IATF members include the following vehicle manufacturers: BMW Group, FCA US LLC, Daimler AG, FCA Italy Spa, Ford Motor Company, General Motors Company, PSA Group, Renault, Volkswagen AG and the vehicle manufacturers respective trade associations – AIAG (U.S.), ANFIA (Italy), FIEV (France), SMMT (U.K.) and VDA QMC (Germany).

Leave a Reply